Map of Eastern Docks
The Eastern Docks cover over 60 acres (24 hectares) and provide
nearly 3 miles (6 km) of quayside. They consist of four dock areas
as well as many riverside quays and were opened in stages between
1842 and 1911. Handling cargo and passengers from all over the
world, most of Southampton`s traffic passed through the Eastern
Docks until 1934 when the Western Docks opened.
The maps in this section show Southampton as it was in 1944.
To explore the docks, click on part of the map or use the links
and Outer Docks
and Empress Docks
South and Test Quays