Map of Inner and Outer Docks
The Outer and Inner Docks were the first docks opened by the
Southampton Dock Company in the 1840s and 1850s. By the 1940s they
were used for landing grain, timber and fruit and by the Southern
Railway`s cross-channel services. In 1963 the Inner Dock was filled
in and the Outer Dock later developed into a marina.
The maps in this section show Southampton as it was in 1944.
The numbers on the map mark the locations of individual berths.
To explore the docks, click on part of the map or use the links